IndyCar Grand Prix at the Glen

Image & Style Magazine

 IndyCar Grand Prix at the Glen presented by Hitachi
(September 4, 2016 – Watkins Glen International, Watkins Glen, New York)
Dixon at the pole and, for all intents and purposes, all the way – leading for 50 out of 60 laps. Race strategy, efficient pit stops / crew, excellent fuel management (especially in the last quarter of the race) and the loss of competitors to damage all favored Dixon. His victory this day – his fourth out of seven races at the Glen – was flawless.
For the less fortunate…
Mikhail Aleshin in the #7 SMP Racing / Schmidt Peterson Honda suffered a rare exploding left rear tire and spun to a stop on lap 14, ending his day.
Just three laps later, Graham Rahal in the #15 Steak ‘n Shake / Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda tried to push past Charlie Kimball-the-Immovable in the #83 Tresiba / Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet on the inside…but found himself in the barrier wall instead after his left front wheel made contact with Kimball’s chassis.
In an incident sure to impact the series’ standings, it was at the two-thirds point in this race when Char-lie Kimball made contact with the left rear of series cup hopeful Will Power in the #12 Verizon / Team Penske Chevrolet, causing Power’s rear wheels to lose grip and sending him into the barrier. To this ob-server, Kimball was trying to pass on the outside and ran out of pavement. His move back to the middle of the track drove his wheels into the rear of Power…who paid the price. Will the 20 to 30 points lost on this day be the difference in who wins the 2016 series trophy?
Applause please…
The come-back kid, Sebastien Bourdais, found himself a half-lap down and in last place on lap #1…yet fought back to end in our Top Five. Congratulations to Sebastien and KVSH Racing for that demonstra-tion of determination, skill and competitive spirit!
The Top Five
#1 – Scott Dixon in the #9 Target / Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
#2 – Josef Newgarden in the #21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka / Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet
#3 – Helio Castroneves in the #3 Hitachi / Team Penske Chevrolet
#4 – Conor Daly in the #18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality / Dale Coyne Racing Honda
#5 – Sebastien Bourdais in the #11 Team Hydroxycut / KVSH Racing Chevrolet