IRONMAN World Championships Podium Leaders

Image & style Magazine
Anne Haug is seen during the IRONMAN World Championship in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States on October 12, 2019. // Graeme Murray/Red Bull

Lucy Charles-Barclay digs deep for second, Sebastian Kienle takes third.

Lucy Charles-Barclay continued her fine record in Kona by finish second at the IRONMAN World Championships for a third year in a row. In testing conditions on the island, Sebastian Kienle completed the podium in the men’s race. Here is how the day played out:

– German duo Anne Haug and Jan Frodeno took the wins, with Frodeno setting a new course record in the process.

– British triathlete Charles-Barclay set the pace in the swim as she led out of the water, dropping Lauren Brandon, the only woman who could stick with her, in transition.

– Four-time winner Daniela Ryf of Switzerland was five minutes back out the water but fell further behind as the bike went on with Charles-Barclay riding solo at the front to reach T2 with an eight minute advantage over her nearest rivals.

– Haug set off hard on the run and quickly ate into the lead before passing Charles-Barclay after 16 miles.

– The German pulled away to take her first World Championship title as Charles-Barclay fought back to finish second for the third year in a row with Sarah Crowley, who briefly overtook the Brit, rounding off the podium.

– Ryf refused to give in, and battled bravely to 13th place while Camilla Pedersen pulled out during the run.

– Frodeno set a new course record in the men’s race, breaking Patrick Lange’s 2018 mark by more than a minute as he finished in 7:51:13.

– The German started well by coming out of the water in second place as he backed up his 2015 and 2016 titles with a dominant display.

– He extended his lead on the run thanks to a 2:42:43 marathon with O’Donnell finishing second and 2014 champion Sebastien Kienle, who was fourth off the bike, moving up to finish in third.

– Elsewhere, Braden Currie finished in seventh, David Plese 26th, and Matt Trautman 28th while Patrik Nilsson had to drop out of the race during the run.

Pro Women result:
1)    Anne Haug GER 8:40:10
2)    Lucy Charles-Barclay GBR 8:46:44
3)    Sarah Crowley AUS 8:48:13
13) Daniela Ryf SUI 9:14:26

Pro Men result:
1)    Jan Frodeno GER 7:51:13
2)    Tim O’Donnell USA 7:59:40
3)    Sebastian Kienle GER 8:02:04
7)   Braden Currie NZL 8:08:04
26) David Plese SLO 8:30:03
28) Matt Trautman ZAF 8:33:05